The Daily Dish

img_0280

Eating a salad as a meal twice a day is a goal for me. I don’t eat enough vegetables for my goals of healing cancer and as I learn more on healing diets I am coming to understand how seriously under nourished I have been.

If you look at my url (alkalinda, etc.) you might rightly deduce  that I am delving into an alkaline diet of some kind. Salads are keys to this type of diet.

I consider myself as transitioning at this time. Alot to learn and alot to share.

The plate above is built upon  a bed of baby greens (spinach, kale, arugula) with some romaine lettuce. Two kinds of home made sprouts (brocolli and a combo one), radish, bell pepper, onion, tomato and cucumber as a topping and sweet and sour lentil (cooked) on the side. I had some white rice ( not a good choice but it was there) but otherwise a plate like this might include other grains or it might not. Beans are also optional.  I took the photo before I topped the salad with hemp and flax seed, raisins and home made dressing. I have to use up a jar of pickles a friend made for me so I added that but otherwise I’d of added sauerkraut or kim chi.

I can manage one of these a day.

 

11 thoughts on “The Daily Dish

  1. Love the addition of Hemp seeds and Flax .. I often sprinkle with hemp seeds… 🙂 Hubby at first wanted to know what they were, but he soon got used to having them within our salads.. 🙂 I love lots of red peppers, not the hot ones.. I am not a fan of chili peppers.. .. And Beetroots I love..
    ( Planted those last week in the allotments.. can not live without my beets and beetroot juices) lol.. 🙂
    Lovely looking plate of food 🍓🥑🥕💚

    Like

  2. I drink them right away too but Garry likes to have them around throughout the day. I wish he liked porridge but his gran ruined that one by force feeding it to the siblings as kids. Terrible! lol.

    Like

  3. I am also doing a lot of salads for my healing of cancer. I do at least 2 a day with lots of greens including Kale, chard, spinach, etc, half avocado, carrots, zucchini noodles, beets noodles, chia seeds, ground flax seeds and ground avocado seed. All that with Braggs apple cider vinegar and olive oil. No salt just black pepper. It has been an adjustment but I have been doing it for 2 months now and I love my salads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thats wonderful! I can’t eat that much salad but I’m hoping to build my appetite up to it. The beet noodles sound great. I have been hemming and hawing about buying a spiralizer …been just using a vegetable peeler so far. The idea of beet noodles might have convinced me. Heres to your health.

      Like

Leave a Reply

