Pickled Turnips

IMG_0309

Eating a pickled vegetable with meals is a common tradition in many cultures around the world because it is thought to help with digestion. I am mid eastern and we are no exception to this wisdome-from cucumbers to olives and on to walnut stuffed eggplant, we know how to pickle!

Pickled Turnips however  are probably a favorite in my family and are served as a side to many dishes, breakfast, lunch and dinner and for us, making it at home gives us the best flavor and texture. This is not an instant pickle but nearly-it is unprocessed and uses vinegar so its not a ferment. We call it “lift” pronounced roughly as “lifit” . Here is my moms recipe:

1/4 cup sea salt

2 cups water

1/2 cup raw apple cider vinegar

turnips

one beet

garlic

Jalepeno pepper

You may add any spices you prefer and  remove any except for the salt

Bring water and salt to boil, then set aside to allow to cool. In the meantime, wash peel and cut turnips-half moons are the traditional shape. Layer the turnips with the beets and spices in jars

DSCF9445.JPG

Once the water is cooled, add vinegar and stir then add to the jars. Remove air bubbles and cap, then leave in a dark part of the kitchen for a few days-up to two weeks. Turnips are ready when they are softened but still crunchy.

Disclosure- I had no beets on the day I made these so I added the liquid from canned beets to give the turnips color. Two days later I added fresh,  peeled beets:

DSCF9453.JPG

Turnips turning pink! 

Then I recapped and shook the bottle. It will be fine.  You may eat the pickled beets btw. But in the instructions above I advise to layer the beets and that is how you should do it normally.

Alkaline? There seems to be two schools of thought regarding vinegar-one says that consuming it creates an alkaline body and the other says its to be avoided. I used raw apple cider vinegar whereas in recipes online the lift here calls for white vinegar-which I use for cleaning. It is up to you to decide which school of thought you belong to regarding alkalinity. Turnips are definitely an alkaline vegetable and so are beets.  Salt on the other hand, is not.

When you work on this kind of diet, it becomes obvious that there is no way to eat 100 percent alkaline, nor should you. The aim is to eat more alkaline while avoiding the seriously acidic foods. More on this as time goes on and as I learn. In the meantime there are alkaline food lists all over online if you are interested.

4 thoughts on “Pickled Turnips

  1. I think I’ve read you mention Golden milk, and pickled turnips before. But it’s a good reminder of what’s possible. I do love a good beetroot, and this recipe sounds like a good way to use up root vegetables. Do you find it, um…gives you gas? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its a delicious way to get roots in but keep in mind the salt content! I don’t actually find it gives me gas. I have eaten alot of raw turnips in my life (I don’t care for cooked turnips much but love them raw) so maybe my body is used to it? lol. I wonder too if pickles don’t help with that “problem” which might be why people eat pickles with foods? Try it!

      Like

  2. I hope you do try. I am not sure about the gas but I bet you could ferment these. They pickle quickly in a warm room so I am sure they would ferment equally fast and I think you could use less salt if you did. We ate some last night and they were perfect texture after only a few days. If you do make a brine, I might suggest that you use less salt. On the other hand, I am not used to eating salty foods anymore so even that small amount in my recipe seems over kill to me. Either way, enjoy them if you do make it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

