Breakfast of Champions

IMG_0400 In trying to  eat alkaline/raw/vegan, eating more can be important to success. The reasons are due to calorie needs as well as the fact that by eating these foods in greater numbers, one is achieving optimal nourishment from the allowable healing foods. Cancer patients need a great deal of deeper nourishment as do others with severe debilitation so low caloried dieting in the traditional sense is out.

The take away here is that a person who just eats a bit of fruit with some dairy for example, but has a sandwich for lunch and a steak and potato dinner does not have room for the portions  I would eat, so to that person, this platter looks excessive I am sure. However, if that same person were to try this diet, the mindset of “excess” has to change otherwise that person would be very hungry all the time. Also, eating one portion of fruit and another of vegetables a day is not optimal. We all need far more.

I say this because I am old enough to remember the calorie restricted cottage cheese/ celery stick/ melba toast diet and I can see how the image prevails and is applied to the vegan/ raw diet too. They are NOT the same;)

I am very rarely hungry on this diet but I was initially.  Infact, sometimes (like this breakfast), my eyes are far bigger than my stomach, but thats because of my inner artist. I love colorful  platters! My point however is to advise newcomers to pack your plate. Don’t be afraid to eat more. The reason people use smoothies and juices is because they can pack in far more portions than they can eat in a day, not just for hunger but for the reason we need to eat-nourishment. There is no harm in doing so. Eat!

The further I have gone into my cancer journey and alkaline eating, the more my body just has no desire for denser foods so if you try this way of eating,  give it a chance to work. It feels odd at first but as your body changes, it feels right.   I consider myself to be in the transitional stages of the diet and recommend taking time to adjust.

Some notes: Since I have cancer, my appetite might  not be strong regardless but I’m not losing weight so there isn’t a concern regarding calories and I’m  feeling what I call “normal” so theres no concern about rampant metastisis changing my appetite.My blood work is monitored constantly and continues to impress doctors as well.  Something more positive appears to be shifting.

I obviously don’t discount the power of  higher level nourishment but I do believe theres a syncronisty between adding good/ removing bad at this stage for me. I estimate that I’m about 65% alkaline and 30% raw at this time- thats the “add” bit. When I was less committed I didn’t feel any striking benefits necessarily.  When I finally upped the ante, I began to see the power of food to heal. This part meant a stricter watch over elimination.

An alkaline diet in general is vegan. Anybody can eat more alkaline foods but the formal diet itself is vegancentric.  It can allow grains if sprouted, but many eliminate them. I have removed many.  The diet removes dairy ( I still do cultured yogurt maybe twice a month, more out of habit than anything), soy, bad oils, refined sugars, chemicals, peanuts, etc.

Once these foods were removed, its been much more uncomfortable adding them back in when I am so harried that I just eat whats there.  Whats more, it took awhile to realize it. Infact, I just realized last weekend to be exact when I ate something I shouldn’t have and my liver let me know the following day.

Other results:

My entire torso has been subject to crippling pain since last December when my body underwent a severe cytokine storm after direct radiation to a liver tumor. My oncologist asked me to track my triggers. Long story short- meat and eggs. I was still eating both now and then, with an emphasis on eggs, which I absolutely love. I stopped both and the troubling pain in my torso went away completely. I am off of acid reflux medications and can focus on deeper healing finally!

This is no small thing to endure but it became more distressing when the pain was being blamed on my swollen lymph and maybe lung tumors which stressed me out which put me in a vicious cycle. I began to doubt that my alternative measures could work.

Recently I was reading an old issue of the Hippocrates Institutes magazine. In it, a patient said that one of the important lessons she learned on her visit was to stop being afraid that the treatment wouldn’t work and to believe that it will.

Those of us choosing integrative medicine are afraid. We are covering all bases and nothing wrong with that. What we need to keep in mind though is that our allopathic oncologists will say things that scare us. Cancer is scary business after all. But how we react is up to us. For example, I was terrified regarding my lymph glands. I took immediate action to recommit to this diet however…upped it a few notches, not thinking it would help. Looking back, I see that I was desperate to feel in control but not necessarily trustful. Then I read the article and conciously let some of the fear go.  And my diet did help. I believe my entire digestive tract was inflammed and that was what needed attention.

So keep this all in mind. Food is not ” just food”, healing itself is also not just about food, but mind ( and spirit).  Changing my perceptions about food, excess, hunger and healing has been tremendously helpful to me because its necessary to do. We need to get out of our own way sometimes.

To your health.

20 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Its a very true saying.. ‘We are what we eat’ and a good salad with lots of various things, can fill me more than a large cooked meal..
    My breakfast I have home made granola which has oats, hazel nuts, almonds, pine nuts, pumpkin seeds and walnuts.. Roasted with a little maple syrup.. then later add raisins In fact I took some photos of what I was doing the other week intending to post on my garden blog recipe pages..
    I then add fresh fruit such a Kiwi and peach. or dried peaches..

    I have every faith that this diet is very healing Linda.. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions | Site Title

  3. Very well written. I’m the same, with failing to up the anti on my diet. I know what foods I have problems with, but I keep hoping I’ll come good. I understand the problem is gut related – not so much the foods. They just become the triggers. I need to heal my gut.

    Problem for me, is I’ve already been on a restricted diet, most of my adult life. First it was diabetes related, then it became gluten related. It seems the more I eliminate, the more problem foods arise. So naturally, I’m nervous about eliminating my few vices. Mostly dairy. Meat is probably an issue too, but I think it’s more the diet they feed the animals, and preservatives they add.

    Anyway, it’s great to see a testimony about the effects, of taking it more seriously. Keep it up. It’s motivational for me, but also doing wonders for you. I really like the plate of food. My favourite (and only) breakfast, is mixed berries with yoghurt.

    Just wondering, how does your diet change through winter, when fresh and raw ingredients are harder to come by?

    Like

    • Chris, my diet has to include alot of imported foods whether we are in winter or summer because we live so far north that we would starve unless we hunted and fished and were good at it to boot, if we went local and fresh only. So we do our best with what we have, as follows:

      We freeze alot of local berries especially, dry local apples and pears, etc., we purchase autumn CSA boxes meant for storage in root cellars ( pumpkin, carrots, etc.)
      But there is more power in our hands than we think too via sprouting. I am still trying to plant out all of our starts ( season extending is a goal too btw) so once I have room, I’m setting up a bit of an indoor farm. I know you are heading into winter yourself. I encourage you to consider trying it even on a small scale.
      Its life as usual for us pretty much. Raw, btw, can be at any percentage. Summer is a good time to attempt “high raw” , meaning a higher percentage if not 100 %, while winter might require a decrease in raw eating ( I’m not seeing eating cold soups in winter myself;)
      Just some brief thoughts:
      What finally made me come good Chris, was desperation. I have only one chance to make this final choice between me or the food/ diet industry. Who will win? I hope I will. It could be too late of course but I’m giving it my best shot because I deserve to love myself tnat much. So you do have make a very deeply profound choice.

      I then had to identify my antagonists. To do that I literally had to remove myself from other peoples thinking but also my own. I’m an old school vegetarian after all. I had to face soy and most grains for example.

      Our relationship with foods is very similar to abusive relationships too. How much lies can we literally stomach?

      The flipside is to trust yourself too though. We all know when we cling to ideas that just feel safe but no longer serve us. I can’t define that for you, but I had to for me and I highly recommend a contemplative approach if you feel you can spare the time. I cannot.

      If you know meat/ sugar/ dairy etc. affects you negatively, think about why you would eat it. Is it just easier? Is it a comfort issue? etc. etc.

      Ultimately, I dont think things work optimally if you keep feeding yourself antagonists. That includes gut health;)
      These are the reasons why I said that I had to step out of my own way.
      I hope this helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

