In My Garden: Iris

Last year, a friend gave me about a dozen iris from her late mother in laws garden. She had no idea of what colors much less names they were but I was thrilled just the same because these have been in their garden for a very long time. I hoped for heirlooms. The gift came later in the season therefor only one bloomed- a yellow.  I then waited patiently to see what I had all of last year. In the meantime, they unexpectedly divided like mad.

IMG_0411.JPG

For the last week, its  been somewhat like Christmas here for me. Every morning I wake up eagerly awaiting the sun to reveal which delicate tissue wrapped pod has blossomed. So far:

IMG_0405Possibly, Coronation. I am told by my friend Mary – a member of one of the Iris historical societies- that this type was introduced in the 20’s and was popular in graveyards.

Also:

IMG_0414

Evolution, a variety from the 1930’s. Its colors remind me of a sunset.  So far it looks like these are the two varieties in that bunch. I’m thrilled of course.  I already had:

IMG_0407

No idea about name or history but I think its my favorite. Its at least 3 feet tall and is an early bloomer. I have another purple variety that haven’t bloomed yet- a smaller “Japanese Iris” as well.  Photos when they do.

Iris came into my life in such an odd way. I recall how an elderly neighbor in Chicago used to wax poetic about his collection and while I liked them well enough, I didn’t think they were an easy flower to grow so I just used to nod politely and let him talk.

Then we moved up here and we eventually uncovered the two previously mentioned bunches – one hidden amongst the thorny raspberry patch and the other in a cluster of unmowed grass….as far from the house as you can get. We moved the Bearded Iris under the Oak tree ( my pet project has been to “decorate” beneath it) where I can appreciate them as well as access easily  for bouquets. I have to move the Japanese one as well as place samples of each variety in pots in case we do sell the property.

I was very wrong about them being hard to grow …they are easy as pie. The rhizome stays in the ground so they are extremely hardy. Our area can dip well below freezing into the negative numbers (-32 and thereabouts)  and stay there for days if not weeks. Its nice to not have to dig them up! And though our spring weather can be extreme with high tornado level winds, hail and torrential rains, they have held up beautifully.

The worst part is having to divide them but even that has rewards because one can spread them around as gifts to friends and even entice friends to do the digging.

I realized something about them- they are tokens of friendship. If you have watched The Botany of Desire, it is stated how plants use these sort of enchantments in order to survive. Iris  propagate easily and they encouraging gift giving. In this way, they also propagate memories and friendship which is the way they move into other gardens. Clever flower! And it gets even better. One can plant from seed but even with heirlooms, each seed wont necessarily produce true. Instead, the rhizome carries the true genetic code and that of course is u der ground.

Mary and I will trade ( she has my Japanese ones already) and in this way, no matter what becomes of me, I will live on in her garden.  When she thins hers, I will cherish her gifts too and the friend who gifted me the dozen also lives in my garden,  as does her late mother in law  who I barely knew and of course my elderly neighbor from Chicago lives in memory if not in the garden itself. Thats quite a feat for a flower!

Now I’m planning on how, if we move, I will prepare samples to take with me and how to encourage the kids to also take samples to grow in my memory when I am gone.  I think that ultimately, thats the beauty of some gardens- they can be legacies if we allow it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “In My Garden: Iris

  1. Pingback: In My Garden: Iris | Site Title

  2. Good old Gladys. I was given some by a neighbour in our old house. They were incredibly hardy. Only I didn’t have the foresight to bring any with us, to our new property when we moved. I was given some Hippeastrums recently however, by a local, a few streets up. I’m looking forward to seeing how they flower, and they have a reputation for being hardy too.

    You have some really pretty flowers, and it’s great to continue the legacy. It’s only through propagation, the old varieties still can be found. The nurseries just don’t carry them any more. It’s all new stuff.

    But that’s what I love about propagation, and why I continue it. The old varieties are a lot hardier, I’ve found. So keep on giving, gifts from the garden. Their lifespans exceed many human ones. Which is a very comforting thought. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, Gladys! Garry loves growing them . In our area though, we have to pull them out every fall so while I love to see and recieve them, and to give them away, they have that disadvantage. But they have that same enthusiasm as far as creating wonderful memories:)
      I look forward to reading about your new additions. I know you must be thrilled!
      We will certainly carry on our legacy gardening here for as long as we can.

      Like

    • Thanks Tonye. I mostly post about cancer and diet but I’m a firm believer in tne healing power of beauty so I will post more as the flowers around me come in. I’m glad you enjoyed looking:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

