Baklava Flavored Buckwheat Granola

IMG_0424

Before I actually realized how important soaking grains is in a raw foods diet, I tried to add raw millet to baked granola and naturally nearly broke my teeth so when I undertook this idea, I remained cautiously skeptical. Buckwheat of course is not a real grain but needs to be treated like one.

I presoaked the buckwheat for a good 24 hours then I put it in the dehydrator at 115 degrees F for about 6 hrs. I had other things in there so the timing might have been overkill as I’m used to dehydrating for long term storage which requires longer timing and higher temps than raw foods does. I’m  still learning here:)

The recipe is very basic and you can easily wing it, but I wrote it down what I did. Its like any other granola except it goes back into the dehydrator after adding liquids, instead of the oven. All the dried fruit except the home dried strawberries plumped up in the process so that was quite a surprise. Another very nice surprise is that this batch tastes very much like baklava.

1 1/2 cups buckwheat (prepared as above)

1/4 cup raw pecans

1/4 cup blanched almonds

1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds

6 dried apricots cut with scissors

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 cup dehydrated starwberries

1 Tablespoon cinnamon

Mix the above together in a bowl

Then, on low heat, melt 2 tbsp. coconut oil remove from flame and let cool slightly then add 1 Tablespoon raw honey ( or maple syrup, etc. )

Pour over dried ingredients, mix well then return to dehydrator set to 115 degrees until the granola is dry. It will be slightly sticky. Thats it.

Some of my ingredients were not raw ( dried fruits) so this isnt fully raw but it is delicious. Seriously….baklava granola? Who can resist that?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Baklava Flavored Buckwheat Granola

Leave a Reply

