Berry season

10 lbs purchased berries, plus another 20 lbs given to us by a neighboring organic farm in exchange for our beekeeping services, plus another few lbs on the way…..do you think we could use more strawberries? lol.

These are all frozen and eaten throughout the year. In addition, our raspberries are ripening plus we have a flush of mulberries and an even smaller amount of aronia and goji, ย which likely will just get eaten straight away. Its our first year for the three, so I feel lucky to be getting any at all.

Other than freezing, I may opt to make jams but I haven’t felt up to it. I have made fruit leather however so might get around to making more. Both drying and freezing are optimal ways to preserve the nutrients in many foods. Fermenting is another but I have not tried it with fruit.

Buying bushels of produce while its fresh and in season plus local, then preserving them is how one can make a raw/ alkaline diet sustainable throughout the winter months. The key is keeping nutrients intact without relying on the acidification that sugars and vinegars bring to the table.

Luckily, I enjoy these passtimes. Do you?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Berry season

  1. Your kitchen probably resembles our own at the moment Linda.. berries, coming out of our ears at the moment.. ๐Ÿ™‚ But we freeze them too.. I put loads of raspberries we had in a jelly to have with some ice-cream later today as we have our granddaughter from school.. Then I forgot I had a load of strawberries I had washed in the fridge.. lol.. So love this time of year.. but I got hubby on picking them and he sat out side the other morning on the swing, and did the painstaking job of picking off the redcurrants ripe ones he had picked in the morning.. Getting him trained nicely lol.. ๐Ÿ™‚ into some of the fiddlier jobs hehe..
    Sending LOVE and hope your day is going well. โค ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Lol. We are just getting started but yes, my kitchen has berries growing out of the walls. I ended up making one batch of jam. If you can find it, Pamonas Universal Pectin allows a reduction in both cooking time and sugar. It also allows the use of honey instead of sugar. The hardest part of making this batch of jam was waiting for the water bath to boil. I have to confess…men clean berries better than women:) lol I hope your day also went as well as mine.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was perfect.. and ๐Ÿ™‚ big smiles at your jam making.. I can not remember what type of pectin I get, but my daughter sells it in her health food store, so it must be a better one.. ๐Ÿ™‚ But it reduces a lot of sugar use.. xxx ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great day, sending LOVE.. ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

